1. On a multilane road, a dashed yellow line next to a solid yellow line means:
Where there are both solid and dashed yellow lines between lanes of traffic, only traffic directly next to the dashed line may cross the centerline to pass. Drivers next to the solid line may not pass.
2. This sign means:
All roads are slippery and dangerous when wet. This sign warns of conditions that can cause a driver to lose control of a car. A driver should slow down when coming upon wet pavement because it takes longer to stop.
3. What does this road sign indicate?
Pentagonal signs indicate that you are in or are approaching a school zone and/or school crossing. Be aware of children when driving near a school zone and follow posted speed limits.
4. You may pass on the right of another vehicle:
You may pass on the right of another vehicle making or about to make a left turn if there is sufficient pavement width for both your vehicle and the vehicle making the left turn. You may also pass on the right when traveling on a multilane highway carrying two or more lanes of traffic in the same direction.
5. It is illegal for a person 21 years of age or older to drive with a minimum blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of:
For drivers age 21 or older, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Driving while under the influence of alcohol is not only illegal, but dangerous.
6. To be able to turn quickly, your hands must be:
Both hands should be placed on opposite sides of the steering wheel. This position is comfortable and promotes safe turning on high-speed roadways.
7. Temporary signs used in construction and maintenance work areas:
All temporary signs in work zones have orange backgrounds with black writing and/or symbols.
8. This sign is a:
A downward-facing triangular sign is always a yield sign. Drivers must be prepared to slow down or stop when approaching a yield sign.
Grade This Section
Practice Permit Test GA
Are you preparing to take your Georgia learner’s permit test? You’ve come to the right place to ensure you’re prepared for the DMV written test. Passing your Georgia driving test at the Georgia Department of Driver Services is no easy feat. Having knowledge of road rules and safety practices in the state of GA will not only help you pass your exam but also be a safer driver. A DMV Georgia practice test is the only way to make sure you’re prepared for the tests you face on the runway up to gaining your Georgia driving license.
A Georgia practice permit test is one of the best ways to prepare and ensure you get your Georgia learners permit. Here at DMV Written Test, you can take practice exams that have actual questions from the GA permit test that has been administered in 2021. With questions that are actually on the test, there’s no better way to prepare for a big driving exam. You can even purchase a Georgia DMV cheat sheet if you don’t want the hassle or don’t have the time to quiz and practice.
Georgia Learner’s Permit Requirements
Before you can take your Georgia Learner’s permit test, you’ll need to make sure you meet a number of requirements that are set forth on a state-specific level. A Georgia learner's permit is also called an instructional permit. It is part of the Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA).
The Georgia Learner’s Permit is one of the earliest requirements to receive a graduated driver’s license. This is also sometimes referred to as a GDL. TADRA combines with Joshua’s Law when it comes to Drivers Education and policy. Joshua’s law requires driver’s training for all teen drivers looking to attain their driver's license. The Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act does its part by helping to ensure that you drive safely and responsibly when training as a teenage driver.
Instructional permits and the licensing process are all managed by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
Georgia Learner’s Permit Age Requirements
To apply for an instructional Georgia learner’s permit, you must be at least 15 years old. If you’re younger than 18 years of age, your instructional permit is dependent on good attendance and behavior at school. A Georgia instructional permit can be revoked for those aged under 18. Your learner’s permit can be taken from you if you stop attending school altogether, have 10 unexcused absences, or have general poor behavior and juvenile conduct.
What Paperwork do I Need to Get My Georgia Learner’s Permit
Wondering what paperwork you need to get your Georgia learner’s permit? You’re not alone. The Georgia DDS can be confusing and the permit process does require verification of a number of things. You’ll need the following items to submit in person at the Department of Driver Services in Georgia.
- Completed Application form signed by your parent, guardian, or authorized driving instructor.
- A Completed Certificate of Attendance (Form DS-1). For applicable applicants, proof of completion of education through a high school diploma or GED is required if no longer enrolled.
- Proof of Identity (US Passport or Birth Certificate works best)
- Proof of Social Security Number (bring your social security card) and a completed W2 Form
- Proof of Residency - 2 Documents (Bank Statement, School Report Card, Certificate of Attendance)
Once you have all of these documents submitted and your identity is verified with the DDS, it’s time to take and pass your two written tests. You’ll also need to take your eye exam as well as pay your permit test fee.
What is the Cost of a Georgia Learner’s Permit?
The cost of the Georgia Learner’s Permit can be found in the fee paid to the Georgia DDS at the time of your written permit exams. You must pay $10 at the time of your test via credit or debit card, cash, check, or money order.
How Many Questions Are on the GA Learner’s Permit Test?
There are two exams that you must pass as part of your GA Learner’s Permit Test. The two exams are the “road rules test,” and the “road signs test.” To pass each exam the student must get at least 15 of the 20 questions right. This is an accuracy rate of 75%.
The road rules test covers many topics including being a responsible driver, drunk driving, road hazards, signaling, and much more. In general, this section covers most GA traffic laws.
The road signs test covers all things Georgia traffic signage. This ranges from highway signs and traffic signals to road markers.
What if I Fail My Georgia Permit Test?
If you didn’t pass your Georgia permit test, it’s important to know that you get another chance. If you fail either of your written tests on your first go around, you must wait one day to retake it. If you fail a second time or on any additional attempts after that, you will be required to wait 7 days before your next attempt to pass. Every time you take the GA Permit Test, you will have to pay the $10 permit fee required by the state.
Making sure you’re ready for the Georgia permit test is vital to the process of being successful. Make sure you look into our Georgia DMV cheat sheet as an option for preparation. For a minimal fee, you’ll get access to most/all of the answers you’ll see on your permit test.
Georgia Learners Permit Driving Restrictions
There are restrictions that come with your Georgia Learner’s Permit. You may only drive while you are accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 21 years old, licensed to drive a class C vehicle, attentive and alert, and sitting next to you. Your supervisor must be ready and able to take over at any time if necessary. This also means the adult must be sober enough to drive safely.
Georgia Driver’s Education
Driver’s Ed is required in Georgia to get your driver's license before the age of 18. If you want to apply for your intermediate driver’s license before you’re 18 years of age, you must complete GA driver’s ed. To enroll and complete the Georgia Driver's Education requirement you must be at least 15 years of age. You must finish 30 hours of classroom study. You also must complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a certified instructor.
There are three types of Georgia Driver’s Education courses. You can complete GA Drivers Ed at private driving schools, at your high school or college, or online with a provider like Aceable or DriversEd.com.
Your course curriculum is set into two parts: theory and practice. Your classroom instruction will include information about critical road knowledge like vehicle safety, hazard prevention methods, and Georgia traffic laws. After the theory is completed, it’s time to administer the theory in practice with behind-the-wheel hours. You can do this with 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an approved instructor or by completing the 40-hour parent-teen driver guide which is much more tedious and hour intensive.